Getting Started

Firstly, the name. The Microsoft Operations Framework ( defines the Operating Quadrant as including “IT operating standards, processes, and procedures that are regularly applied to service solutions to achieve and maintain service levels within predetermined parameters.” The Service Management Functions included within the Operating Quadrant are:

System Administration
Security Administration
Directory Services
Network Administration
Service Monitoring and Control
Storage Management
Job Scheduling

 For many of us IT professionals, this is the world we live in. The purpose of this site is serve as a repository for helpful articles and discussions on detailed real-world solutions for improving the network and system environments that we support.


About Kristopher Bash
Kris is a Senior Program Manager at Microsoft, working on UNIX and Linux management features in Microsoft System Center. Prior to joining Microsoft, Kris worked in systems management, server administration, and IT operations for nearly 15 years.

2 Responses to Getting Started

  1. Only curiosity 🙂

    Why SMF from MOF 3 and not MOF 4?

    Regards and congratulations

    • Kristopher Bash says:

      Good question. To be honest, it had been some time since I read any MOF documentation. I had settled on the name some time ago, and I recently did a web search for the MOF description of the Operating Quadrant, and came upon what I quoted. Looks like I have more reading to do.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: